---
title: "Lock Source"
canonical: "https://docs.vaultspeed.com/space/VPD/3011444832/Lock%20Source"
format: markdown
---
The last step for a source is to Lock the source release in what VaultSpeed calls a 'final build'. In this way, the source is ready to be used in a data vault model.

Click the ‘Lock Release' button in the upper right corner.  A small window will open with a simple 'Lock’ button.  Clicking this button will lock your release.

![image](media://00489192-a43e-4ee8-a081-dd25830b4138)

> ⚠️ if the small ‘Lock’ button is not enabled you probably still have some errors in your model.  Go back and fix those errors first before you can lock this release.

The locking of a release will start several tasks again in the background which you could follow in the running tasks list.

You will automatically be redirected to the source release screen.  When all tasks in the running tasks list are done, you can click the refresh button on your releases overview and your source status will now be ‘COMPLETED’.

![image](media://91d1e786-7e31-4026-9c05-bea3bc962e90)

A completed source can no longer be edited. If you want to make changes to this source, create a new release.